Holy Week for Me

I was browsing through one of my favorite sites, My Modern Met, when I saw this dazing photo by Adam Taylor. The photo is just too beautiful, I couldn’t help but save it on my laptop. But the reason I’m blogging about it now isn’t merely its loveliness. I wanted to share this photo because of the impact it had on me, and I’m hoping other people out there could experience it too.

When I look at the man in the photo, it seems like he’s asking me so many questions. Questions that I should be asking myself. Questions that I should be answering myself. Questions I just never bothered to ask myself. Questions I’ve been trying to dodge. I may not be spending ‘Holy Week’ the way most Christians and Catholics would spend it (since I’m not a Catholic anymore), praying and visiting different churches (okay, so I may be visiting churches with my family because they’re Catholics). But thanks to this photo, I am reminded there’s something else that I can do (perhaps something I should do) this Holy Week. I am reminded that I can use the time to, well, mull over things.

Praying and visiting churches may not be in the list of my agenda for Holy Week but reflecting on the past choices I’ve made and contemplating on my future definitely will be. Questions that I should be asking myself. Questions that I should be answering myself. Questions I just never bothered to ask myself. Questions I’ve been trying to dodge. You have them all too, I’m pretty sure of that. Perhaps you can do the same. Contemplate.

3 thoughts on “Holy Week for Me

  1. so whats you religion now?
    its ok not to visit church as long as you have a connection to whoever your God is..
    nice post.

    • I’m noncommittal to any religion right now (perhaps you can say I’m agnostic), but I’ve been trying to read Buddhist doctrines lately. I definitely think a higher power exists but I’m still unsure as to who or what that higher power is.
      Thanks John. :)

  2. Hi, just hopped over to this website from reddit. This isn’t not an article I would normally read, but I loved your thoughts on it. Thanks for making an article worth reading!

Leave a Reply

